Just Remember… Breathe!


Dixon-Ticondergoa-Assorted-Pencils

Image via Wikipedia

Today was a very interesting day.  After being downsized from a company that I worked 60 plus hours a week for I started my new journey at a new company.  I learned that no matter how much I mentally planned for the day, returning to work after 5 months off is always going to be a challenge.  I am not saying it was a bad thing, I simply had to “reactivate” parts of my brain that I had let go dormant this summer.

One of the things I noticed is that “bad” habits had made their way back into my problem solving.  I got to spend two hours of strictly observing the process and my good ol’ number 2 pencil started flying all over my notebook.  I have always known that fresh eyes see new things but my mind went into information overload with what I was seeing.  The exciting thing is that it is in a new industry so I was able to look at things in a different approach and I began to realize that the possibilities were limitless.  Unfortunately, I started focusing on the changes I wanted to make without truly understanding any of the issues.  Sure I could fly by and make changes and they may even make positive results but the question I had to remind myself was, “Is this our biggest issue?”

After one day there is no way that I could ever tell what our biggest issue is.  That is going to take some time to figure out.  That doesn’t mean that I am going to stand still but I am definitely going to take the appropriate time to identify what is in the best interest of our plant and company.  I fear doing anything else could give a wrong impression to my team that I am going after a “fly by” approach.  So I am going to take a step back, breathe and determine the best plan of action to go after.  After all, my true success will be measured by the learning and application of lean by my team and not necessarily what “I” do.

This entry was posted in TPS / Lean Manufacturing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

